What I Lost

REVIEW:

A huge thank you to the author for providing me a copy of her book. This is actually the first book I’ve read that’s involved eating disorders. It’s not too often I get into the heavy stuff so this was definitely different. 

Everything seemed incredibly realistic in this book. It just did not seem like fiction. Which is seriously great. I feel like maybe it could offer some support? There was a time where food and I weren’t on friendly terms and I wish I would have had this book then for support and a wake up call. Luckily, I never had to go to a treatment center for it as it was never as extreme as Elizabeth’s case but I feel like my personal experience made me feel a lot closer to the main character and this book. There are some really scary parts of the book, like mentioning of health issues that come from anorexia that really make you stop and think about what you are doing to your body. All in all this book was very informative and eye opening. 

I feel bad for Elizabeth every time she flashes back to when it all started. She was 130 pounds and felt she needed to be thinner. Her mom was an enabler, which really angers me. But she made great friends at the treatment center and grew a lot. 

This is definitely an informative and emotional read. 

Leave a Reply

